Palate Pleasers

Oven Baked Chicken

Posted on: January 11, 2010

This week I made Oven Baked Chicken…it tasted like fried chicken only it was baked!  The recipe is from November 1987 – imagine holding on to a recipe for that long and not trying it.  I’m sure there will be more like that in the coming weeks.  I just know that I’m looking forward to trying them all.

3-4 lb Roasting Chicken (I bought a pre-cut fryer chicken with the legs, thighs and breasts bone in)
2 Cups Buttermilk
2 Cups all purpose flour (although I think I would use only 1 cup and add as needed)
1 Cup Parmesan cheese (pre-shredded)
1 Tbsp dried Oregano
1 Tbsp dried thyme leaves
1-1/2 tsp ground red pepper (I used 1 tsp)
2 tsp sweet paprika (not smoked)
2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground black pepper

FIRST: Marinate the chicken pieces overnight in buttermilk.

Then when you are ready to cook it, combine in a large bowl the flour, parmesan cheese, herbs, spices, salt and pepper. Roll each chickenpiece in the spicey flour mixture and place on a rack in the roasting pan. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 40 minutes or until done. Makes 4 servings.

**COOK’s NOTE: A roasting pan doesn’t fit in my current oven, so I used a cookie rack in a Jelly roll pan. That worked perfect for me. Spray the wire rack with some sort of non-stick spray. I also used fresh thyme as I didn’t have any dried. I’d suppose fresh or dried would be perfectly fine. It was really great – Mike loved it. I loved all the spices and the crunchy-ness of the skin**

Enjoy!

1 Response to "Oven Baked Chicken"

Hi Susan

Enjoyed your blog
Look forward to more recipes

Luann

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
