Palate Pleasers

Rice Salad with Spinach & Tomatoes

Posted on: January 12, 2010

I had 2 pieces of chicken left over from my Oven Baked Chicken dinner last night so I decided to make a Salad that could incorporate the leftovers. After all it is Yoga night and we need to eat light. I love putting rice in my salads – but barley, couscous or quinoa would all work. It adds a little substance.

For 2 of us, I pulled out 2 dinner plates and built my salad. You could also toss the salad in a salad bowl. Either way works.

I boiled the brown rice in a bag to help expedite the cooking process.  I made just one cup as it served 2 of us. and it was done in 10 minutes. The recipe calls for 2 cups, but it should depend on how many people you plan to serve.  For that, I would figure one-half cup per person.

Directions:

2 cups cooked brown rice
1 medium cucumber, diced
2 cups baby spinach (I just pulled out of the container and placed in the bowl)
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved

In a large bowl combine the spinach, tomatoes, rice, cucumbers and toss. I also added Kalamata olives and chicken to my salad. I think Feta or Blue cheese crumbles would have been great too – the options are endless.  For the dressing you can use anything – I used a vinegar & oil base.. It’s a nice way to use up the leftover chicken or any other type meat.

Very simple and delicious!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
