Palate Pleasers

Homemade Applesauce

Posted on: January 16, 2010

Growing up as a kid I can remember having Pork Chops and I remember having Applesauce, but I never remember eating the two together.  When I met Mike and made Pork Chops he wanted to know where the applesauce was … Quite frankly, the applesauce and pork chops idea didn’t sound that good to me, but because Mike liked it I found a way to make it for him.  I wouldn’t settle for the store bought stuff so I’d have to make it myself.  Fortunately, I had a few apples in the house and found a Betty Crocker recipe  that was the guidance I needed for my homemade applesauce.    Today, I make it rather simple – a mix of apples, cinnamon and brown sugar to taste.  I then use my immersion blender and purée it.  I still don’t like mixing the two (dipping my pork chop in the applesauce), but I do enjoy it just as much as a side dish to complement the pork chops.  I served this last night with the breaded pork chops and it was a big hit.   This will serve 4-6 people.

Directions:

2 Qt Saucepan

1 cup water

4 Big Granny Smith Apples, peeled

2 medium-sized red apple (pink lady, gala even Red Delicious), peeled.

Golden Brown Sugar to taste (about 1/2 cup to start)

Cinnamon (start with 1 Tbsp)

Once the apples have been peeled and diced, put them in 1 cup water in a 2 quart saucepan.  Cook them on medium high heat, stirring occasionally until they have been cooked through.  Once they are soft turn off the heat.  If there is extra water in the pan, i typically drain some of it so my applesauce isn’t runny.  Add the brown sugar and cinnamon to taste.  You can always start with less than I suggested and add more to suit your taste.

**COOKS NOTE: If you have an immersion blender use it at this point to purée the apples leaving a few chunks.    It takes about 15-20 minutes to make the applesauce and I start this process once I have put the pork chops in the oven to bake, so the applesauce is warm when the chops come out.  Why purchase store bought when you can make your own?**

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
