Palate Pleasers

3-Bean Chili

Posted on: January 24, 2010

When Mike & I first got married I thought I would make Chili for dinner.  I never really made it while I was single and figured how difficult can it be?  Aside from hamburger and beans – I couldn’t quite figure out what else to put in to it.  Do you put tomato sauce, diced  or crushed tomatoes?  So, Mike suggested I call his mom and see how she made hers.   Over time, I have added a few things extra things to make it my own.  These are the basic ingredients for chili and in time you too will make it your own.   

Directions:

1 Cup Onion

1 lb ground hamburger or turkey

1 packet Chili Seasoning (Schilling’s or McCormick’s)

1 can 14 ounce Chili Beans

1 can 14 ounce Kidney Beans

1 can 14 ounce Black Beans

1 can 14 ounce Diced tomatoes

1 Cup water

In a Stock pot or Dutch Oven, sauté onions in olive oil until tender.  Add hamburger and cook until done – Once hamburger is cooked add the packet of Chili seasoning to the hamburger and onion.  Follow the directions on the package of the seasoning mix which includes adding water and tomato sauce or diced tomatoes.  Mix everything together and continue to add the 3 different types of beans and their juice.  If you want the sauce to be thinner, than add water or tomato sauce.  Add Salt & Pepper to taste.

Bring chili to boil and then reduce it to simmer and cook for an additional 1-2 hours.

**COOK’s NOTE:  I cook mine in a cast iron dutch-oven as it retains the heat and I can simmer for a couple hours before serving.  This allows all the juices and flavors to meld together.  I also prefer diced tomatos and sometimes I add Chili powder to the chili to give it a kick.  I like my Chili garnished with Cheese, but you can add raw onions or sour cream or nothing at all.

I also always serve it with Cornbread and not Marie Callender ‘s – I make mine from scratch – once you try it this way you’ll never want it from a package.**

 Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
