Palate Pleasers

Smoked Ham & Gruyere Cheese Frittata

Posted on: January 31, 2010

I love Breakfast – especially when I can make new things and sometimes even the same good things such as pancakes and french toast.  I came across this recipe on Food Network in 2008 and just got around to making it today.  I love all the savory flavors that go in it.  I’m not a big fan of eggs, so when I do eat eggs I like to mask the flavor with other good things such as carmelized onions, potatoes and cheese and ham works well too.  This is very easy to make and is a great “Brunch” item if you’re inbetween breakfast and lunch.

DIRECTIONS:

8 extra large eggs

2 TBSP heavy cream

1cup grated Gruyere cheese

Salt & pepper to taste

1 Tbsp butter (unsalted preferred)

1 small onion, diced

4 small red potatoes, diced

1 cup diced smoked ham or Canadian bacon

1 cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano, for finishing top

4-6 Servings – Preheat over to 400 degrees.

In a large bowl whish together eggs, cream, Gruyere cheese, salt and pepper until foamy. Melt butter in a 12″ cast iron pan over medium heat.  Add the onion and potatoes and cook thoroughly and tender.  Pour the egg mixture over the the top.  Pull the edges away from the sides of the pan with a spatula so the eggs flow to the bottom of the pan.  When the frittata is half set, add the ham over the top.

Transfer the pan to the heated oven.  Bake for 10 minutes until puffed and golden.  Once you take it from the oven, shower grated Parmesan and serve garnished with chives or sour cream.

**COOK’s NOTE:  I cut the recipe in half since it was just Mike and me and made the frittata in a 9″ cast iron pan.  I used 5 eggs instead of 8 plus I used half on an onion and 2 potatoes instead of 4. I did however, use a full cup of Gruyere cheese.  (I love cheese).  Gruyere is a nice mild Swiss white cheese.  Perfect for this dish.    Once I was finished cooking this in the oven, I actually put it under the broiler for about 2-5 minutes – just make sure not to burn it. 

We really enjoyed the flavors and almost ate the whole thing.  Very easy to make**

Enjoy!

3 Responses to "Smoked Ham & Gruyere Cheese Frittata"

You must start including pictures. They sound delicious. Once I get all my own things again, I want to start trying some of these recipes. BTW…must the Frittata be made in a cast-iron pan?

Jill – you could probably use any type of pan … just make sure it’s oven friendly. I will have to remember to take photos before I start to eat –

Take care!

Wow! This really does sound good. I like the idea of potatoes IN the eggs. 🙂 Great!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
