Palate Pleasers

Fettucine Alfredo with Bacon

Posted on: February 3, 2010

Bacon, Bacon … I have never eaten so much bacon in my life as I have since I’ve known my husband.  Anything pork and especially bacon is one of his all time favorite foods.  Lucky me when I came across Fettucine Alfredo with Bacon.   Yummo!  And, even better is that this is a recipe from Cooking Light January/February 2010 edition.  So, while it’s supposed to be healthy for you, it’s also really good for you too.  Truthfully, I’m not sure what is so light about bacon and keeping the bacon fat to make the alfredo sauce, but I can assure you it tasted amazing.  I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too.

BTW…I would like to dedicate this recipe to my first Italian brother-in-law, Mark, simply because he asked, but also because he thought it sounded really great!  I can assure you it is.

Directions:

1 – 9 ounce package of fresh fettuccine (refrigerated)

2 slices applewood-smoked bacon, chopped

1 tsp minced garlic

1 Tbsp all-purpose flour

1 Cup 1% milk

2/3 Cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat.  Drain in colander over a bowl, reserving 1/4 cup cooking liquid.

While pasta cooks, cook bacon in a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat for 4 minutes or until crisp.  Remove bacon from pan, reserving drippings.  Add garlic to drippings in pan.  saute 1 minute stirring constantly.  Sprinkle flour over garlic, cook 30 seconds more continuing to stir.  Gradually add milk, cook 2 minutes or until bubbly and slightly thick constantly stirring.  Reduce heat to low.  Gradually add cheese, stirring until cheese melts.  Stir in salt and 1/4 cup reserved cooking liquid (starched water).  Add hot pasta to pan; toss well to combine.  Spring with bacon, parsley and pepper.

**COOK’s NOTE:  I doubled the recipe so that we could have leftovers during the week, plus I used 1 cup Parmesan cheese vs. 2/3 cup. Once you whisk together the milk and flour, add the cheese in.  The recipe made it sound as if that milk and flour mixture would thicken, but it didn’t until I added the cheese.  Otherwise it was really easy to make and I would definitely make it again.  I used thick bacon from the grocer’s deli case – it wasn’t “applewood”, but was a good thick cut.  If you wanted to omit the bacon, you could definitely use any other meat, such as chicken or shrimp.**

Buon Appetito!

2 Responses to "Fettucine Alfredo with Bacon"

Hey, this sounds delicious! I think the “light” part is using skim milk instead of heavy cream (which Alfredo usually calls for). Sounds awesome! I’d like to try Applewood smoked bacon, just to see how it might make a difference…

And you’re right, chicken (or really anything else) would be great with it, too. It’s a great “base” recipe, minus the bacon.

I wonder if a little more flour would thicken it better/faster? Hmmm. I might have to experiment with that part.

Thanks for this!

Jackie – I did added another tablespoon of flour to the milk and it almost made it too thick, which then caused me to add more milk. The 1% milk worked well too vs the heavy cream. Let me know what you do differently to it…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
