Palate Pleasers

Grenache, Zinfandel & a Cab

Posted on: February 8, 2010

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve had a few good bottles of wine that I’d like to write about. 

The first is CASS 2006 Paso Robles Grenache.  Mike and I went to Paso Robles in November 2008 and went to quite a few good wineries that I’m sure I’ll eventually write about.  Cass Winery was recommended to us and I’m really glad we went to it.  Cass had a nice tasting room that opened onto the Vineyards.  Each wine we tried was really enjoyable – but I really loved the Grenache.  It was 90% Grenache and 10% Mouvedre for structure.  Grenache has always been a blending wine, but more and more wineries are taking these blending wines and creating stand-alone wines.  It had great fruit (Strawberry & Cherries) with a little pepper and vanilla notes in the finish.  I loved it!  This wine would go great with Roasted Turkey (think Thanksgiving) and Cherry Salsa.  (www.casswines.com)

Last weekend, I opened up a Forefront 2007 Cabernet, this wine is a second label by Pine Ridge Vineyards.  Pine Ridge Cabernets are some of my all time favorties or I figured this off-shoot should be really good too.  It was a nice easy drinking wine.  The first day was great and then it opened up more on the 2nd and 3rd days.   Yes it took me 3 days to drink this bottle…since I’m the primary wine drinker in the family, I don’t guzzle a bottle of wine down by myself in one sitting, but, I do enjoy it over a few days.  This wine is a Bordeaux blend which adds to the structure of the wine and it also has an addition of Syrah which gives it some really good jammy fruit and hints of vanilla and toasty oak.  It runs about $29.00 for a bottle and is well worth it.  (www.forefrontwines.com)

Mike bought be a serving tray kit where you add your own cork collection to create the tray.  I came across these corks with “Z” on them and couldn’t for the life of me figure out what wine this was until I saw it at a wine store recently and it all came back to me.  This wine is “Z” for Zinfandel – I did find it at a local wine store and ended up buying the bottle.  When I opened it up Saturday night it was light in color – similar to a Pinot Noir; however it had good flavors – Blackberry, toasty oak and vanilla – it was very enjoyable and Mike and I finished the bottle that night.  This bottle is from Amador County which is in Central California and is $19.99/bottle. 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
