Palate Pleasers

Slow-roasted Beef Brisket with Apple cider-ginger barbecue sauce and carmelized sweet onions

Posted on: March 16, 2010

This is another cast iron dish from my favorite cookbook!  I know I’ve said it before and I’m sure I’ll say it again how much I love cooking with cast iron.  It’s easy to make and easy to clean up!  I made this a few weeks ago and forgot to post it and my niece mentioned she was making beef brisket for St. Patty’s day, so I thought I would get this posted for her, and all of you!   This is comfort food at its best!  This dish is slow-simmered with a sweet and sour sauce that becomes very tender over time.  Serves 4-6 people.

Directions:

1 beef brisket – 1 to 3 pounds

Apple Cider-Ginger Barbecue Sauce

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and grated

Caramelized Onions

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, plus more if needed
  • 1/2 sweet yellow onion, cut into quarters, then thinly sliced crosswise

To prepare the barbecue sauce, place the brown sugar, ketchup, apple cider vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce, garlic and ginger in a medium saucepan.  Simmer over medium-low heat for 10 minutes.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

Position a rack in the center of the oven and pre-heat oven to 300 degrees.

To prepare the onions, spread the olive oil evenly in a 12-inch cast iron skillet over medium heat, add the onions and cook, stirring occasionally until golden.  Remove from the pan and set aside.

Turn up the heat to medium, add the brisket and cook turning once until seared on both sides about 5 minutes.  You may need to add a bit more olive oil to keep the meat from sticking to the pan.

Remove the heat and spread the barbecue sauce evenly over the top of the meat.  Sprinkle the cooked onions over the brisket, cover the skillet tightly with foil and bake until fork-tender, about 3 hours.  To serve, cut crosswise into 1/2 inch slices.

**COOK’s NOTE:  This is a really easy dish to make and I love caramelized onions.  All the flavors were great.  One thing that I left out was the ginger because I didn’t have any on hand, but it was just as good with the Apple cider barbecue sauce.  If you make it with the ginger, let me know how it turns out!   I was able to take 2 forks and pull the brisket apart.  I added potatoes to the barbecue mixture once it had cooked 90 minutes.  We ate it with just the shredded beef, potatoes and a salad.  I think that it would be great on a french roll also!

Bon Appetit!

2 Responses to "Slow-roasted Beef Brisket with Apple cider-ginger barbecue sauce and carmelized sweet onions"

Whoa! This sounds absolutely AMAZING. I love a good BBQ sauce, and I also really love caramelized onions.

Made this in the crockpot. EXCELLENT!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
