Palate Pleasers

The end of summer

Posted on: September 21, 2010

The end of summer is almost here and I’m actually looking forward to the cooler days of fall. Here in California I anticipate that time to be sometime at the end of October.   I’m excited to pull out all my fall decorations and get my house ready for the fall and then Christmas will be here before we know it.  But more than anything, I can’t wait to get back in the kitchen again to prepare my favorite fall and winter comfort foods and even try some new recipes that I’ve found during the summer months, or forgot that I had.  I‘m looking forward to breakfasts and dinners made with my cast iron pans and enameled dutch ovens.  I’m looking to add a 7 or 8qt oval dutch oven to my pots and pans … I just haven’t found one that I can afford.  Any suggestions?

I’m finding that summer is just too hot to be in the kitchen and I’ll most likely take a hiatus from writing during those months, unless I find some exceptional recipe or something that might help you out in the kitchen.   I have this 1953 Merritt & O’Keefe stove/oven and it just makes the temperatures in the kitchen too hot in the summer.  While it’s a good stove, I’m looking for something more modern and with a much bigger oven.  If you’re looking for a vintage stove that works great – I’ll sell you mine.  

I’m sorry I haven’t written in a while – but am looking forward to catching up with you at the end of October – it should be cool enough by then. Until then…

All the best!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
