Palate Pleasers

Chicken Dumpling Stoup

Posted on: April 15, 2011

It’s good to be back and blogging about my favorite things.  Food and wine – what’s not to love?  Over the past several months, I’ve come across many recipes that I’ve made, but didn’t quite feel they were worthy of putting pen to paper (so to speak).  However, over the past several months I’ve been looking at this recipe thinking I really need to make this – it’s perfect for a nice winter day or anyday for that matter.  Afterall, I first printed the recipe in February 2007 and here we are nearly 4 years later and I’m finally making it.  It’s from “Every Day with Rachael Ray” and it’s a 30 minute meal.  I have to tell you that if my husband had been home on time and not stuck in traffic, I would have been able to make and serve this dish in 30 minutes.  Even now it’s in the pot waiting to be eaten and the nice thing about it is the favors are melding together and when we do eat it (hopefully soon), it’ll be just right!  **Here it is April and I am just posting this blog from January – I think you’ll still enjoy it regardless**

INGREDIENTS:

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)

4 ribs celery – chopped

2 onions – chopped

2 carrots – shredded (1-1/2 cups)

1 bay leaf

Salt and pepper

6 cups chicken broth

1 pound ground chicken*

1 egg

1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs (a couple of generous handfuls)

1/2 cup fresh Parmesan cheese (a couple of generous handfuls)

2 cloves garlic – finely chopped

One – 1 pound package gnocchi

1 cup frozen peas (optional)

Flat leaf parsley

Crusty bread for dunking

DIRECTIONS:

In a soup pot, heat the EVOO over medium high heat.  Add the celery, onions, carrots and bay leaf, season with salt and pepper and cook for 5 minutes.  Stir in the broth, cover the pot and bring to boil.

Meanwhile, in a bowl, season the chicken with salt and pepper.  Stir in the egg, bread crumbs, cheese and garlic.  Roll the mixture into walnut-sized meatballs (you’ll have about 40) and add to the stoup.  Simmer for about 10 minutes while you wash up.  Add the gnocchi to the stoup and simmer for 5 minutes.  Add the peas and parsley and cook an additional 2 minutes.  Remove the stoup from the heat, discard the bay leaf and let cool for 5 minutes.  Serve with bread.

COOK’s NOTE: Since I didn’t have ground chicken, I used a mix of ground pork and ground sirloin that I had sitting in the freezer and already mixed up from another meal.  Once it thawed I did add extra bread crumbs and parmesan cheese to them.  They came out really great in the Stoup.   I did not use any garlic – so that would be up to you if you wanted to.  I also used one-half a can of peas instead of frozen since I didn’t have a package handy but I would never do that again (Leave out the peas!).  In addition, I used dried Parsely which worked just as well as the fresh.  And to top it off, I made biscuits – but crusty bread or ciabatta rolls  would have been a nice addition.    It’s definitely a great meal and if you have a chance to make it – I’d encourage you to do so.

Bon Appetit!

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
