Palate Pleasers

Butternut Squash Ravioli’s

Posted on: January 3, 2012

In early November, I made Butternut Squash Ravioli’s with Brown Butter Thyme sauce for Mike and me.  They turned out so well that I took a few to my family to taste.  While there it was decided that we would have an Italian themed Christmas and I was asked if I would mind making about 100-150 ravioli’s to feed everyone.   (Plus, I offered to make a Lasagna – but that’s another recipe) We had about 20 family members join on Christmas Day.   Since we were about 6 weeks until Christmas, I figured I had plenty of time to make everything – but of course, December flew by and here we are the week of Christmas and I haven’t even started making these things.  I figured if I could knock out 50 a night for 3 nights I’d have it made.   So I started on Tuesday night (after spending 2 days baking with my nieces) and did 50 staying up until 2pm and then on Wednesday I made 80 more and that was the end of that.  By the end of 2 days, 130 Ravioli’s had been made and put in freezer bags awaiting a pot of boiling water on Christmas Day … Many have asked for the recipe so here it is … you’ll need to make it fit for you as I used a little of this and a little of that and will try my best to put this and that into measurement form.

What you’ll need:

1 butternut squash

Ravioli Stamp

Directions:

Cut Squash in half long ways (top to bottom), scoop out seeds.  Heat oven to 300*

Drizzle Olive Oil over squash – put fresh thyme (or sage or other herb) on squash and salt.   Put on baking sheet/dish in oven (if you have a rack that can go on the cookie sheet or baking dish, use that) for 1-2 hours.  Make sure to check the doneness of the squash to make sure you do not burn it.

Once the Squash has finished roasting, set in place where it can cool.  Once cool – scoop out the squash and put it in a container for use later or put into food processor (or blender/mixer).

Blend, adding the following:

  • up to 1/2 cup brown sugar (to taste)
  • 4 oz marscapone cheese (Ricotta cheese can also be used)

Taste to make sure it taste good to you and is more savory than sweet.  It also needs to taste good to you.  My ravioli’s were savory with a hint of sweetness.  Once completed, you can either freeze the squash in freezer bags or containers or use it right away.

DOUGH RECIPE:  (Recipe from Giada DeLaurentis)

2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour for dusting

1 cup very hot water

In a large bowl combine the flour and water.  Using a wooden spook stir to combine into a large ball.  Cover with plastic wrap and let sit for 10 minutes.  (I used a kitchenaid mixer with dough hook)

To form the ravioli, cut the dough into 4 evenly sized pieces.  The dough should be slightly sticky.  Add extra flour as necessary for rolling, but use only a little as necessary.  Form each piece into a 2  by 6″ rectangle.  Recover the dough with the plastic wrap.

Lightly dust the work surface and a rolling-pin.  Working with 1 piece of dough at a time, roll the dough into a 4 x 19 inch rectangle.  Place 9 rounded teaspoons of filling about 1-inch apart down the center of the dough.  Fold the dough over the filling.  Press down around the edges of the ravioli with your fingertips or with the stamp as it will seal it.  Place the finished ravioli on a baking tray and continue forming the remaining ravioli.

When ready to eat, bring a large pot of salted water to boil over high heat.  Add half the ravioli and cook until the ravioli float stirring occasionally, about 3-4 minutes.  Drain into a large bowl with a slotted spoon and cook the remaining ravioli.

If from freezer, do not thaw – go straight from freezer  bag to boiling water for best results.

COOKs NOTE:  Since this is my recipe, you’ll have to add the things that work best for you including the taste of the butternut squash puree’  or shorten/lengthen your time in the oven.  You can also boil them if that is a faster process for you and add the sweet/savory once they are in the food processor.  The recipe for the dough comes from Giada’s Ravioli Caprese which I will eventually make.  It’s a very easy dough recipe.   You can make sweet dessert ravioli’s by adding more brown sugar both during the roasting process and in the food processor. I will make these again and stock my fridge with them since I really enjoyed them.  The Brown Butter Thyme sauce will follow this recipe.  I hope you all enjoy and if you have any questions, please let me know.

Buon Appetito!

Susan

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
