Palate Pleasers

Chinese Cabbage Salad

Posted on: January 29, 2012

This is gotta be Mike’s favorite salad of all time.  When we were first dating, Mike impressed me with his culinary skills and made this for me.  It’s become one of our favorite salads, so I try to make it whenever possible.  I have to say that the first couple of times I made it, I attempted to change the ingredients by adding more or less of something, but ultimately, the way the recipe is is just about perfect.   I really just changed 2 things which I do think made it better and I’ll tell you what those things are at the end of the recipe in my notes.  I hope you enjoy it.

ORIGINAL RECIPE:

In a large bowl, mix the following together:

3 bags of pre-shredded red cabbage (you can also mix in some green cabbage)

3 green onions, slides (optional)

2 breasts of chicken, boiled and shredded (or use a rotisserie chicken)

5 TBSP Sesame Seeds (use Roasted if you can find them)

4 oz sliced or slivered almonds

3 packages ramen noodles, crumbled

DRESSING:

In a measuring cup or small bowl mix the following together:

1 Cup Canola oil (less 2 TBSP)

2 TBSP sesame oil

6 TBSP white vinegar

6 TBSP sugar

Salt & pepper to taste

Whisk all ingredients together.

Mix dressing into Cabbage Salad mixture.  Make sure to crumble the ramen noodles into small pieces.  I typically do this by smashing them in the bag and then mixing into the salad.  I also only use 2 bags of Ramen noodles (Using 2 bags of Ramen means that the dressing isn’t absorbed completely into the ramen noodles) and I use 6 TBSP (or to taste) of Sesame oil.   I like the taste of the Sesame oil and it’s a good balance against the white vinegar.

Once mixed, cover with foil and refridgerater for 4 hours or more before serving.  I like to make the night before so that all the flavors meld together before I serve for dinner the next night.

If you make this, please let me know – we tend to munch on this throughout the week since it lasts for several days.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
